Jago News reporter Rasel gets ‘LDDP journalism scholarship’

Ismail Hossain Rasel, a journalist from Jago News and 19 other journalists received the “LDDP Journalism Fellowship” from the Livestock and Dairy Development Project (LDDP).

The project is implemented by the Livestock Services Department of the Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries with financial support from the Government of Bangladesh and the World Bank.

“Pariprekkhit”, a non-governmental research institute, organizes the scholarship program.

Other journalists are Shahadat Hossain Rakib from Dhaka Post, Tariqul Islam Sumon from Barta24, Goutom Chandra Ghosh from Bangla News, MA Jalil Munna Rayhan from Daily Ittefaq, Shipon Habib from Jugantor, Jahidur Rahman from Samakal, Bikash Narayan Dutta from Janakantha, Ummul Wara Sweety from Desh Rupantor, Ruhul Amin from Bhorer Kagoj, Asadur Rahman from Amader Samoy, Belal Hossain from Dainik Amar Sangbad, Bayezid Munshi from Bhorer Dak, Shawkat Ali from Business Standard, Harun-ur-Rashid from New Nation, Hasif Mahsud Shah from Independent TV, Md Nasir Uddin from BTV, Yousuf Ali from DBC News, Foyjul Siddiqui from Channel24 and Selim Malik from RTV.

Selected fellows will publish and disseminate research, development, and analytical reports on livestock sector prospects and actions over the next three months (September-November) in their respective media.

Previously, Ismail Hossain Rasel won a grant from Democracy International for reporting on the elections. He also received an award from Minority Alliance International for his report on the Shia community.

He completed his studies with honors and masters at Stamford University. Before joining Jago News, he worked at Banglamail24.com, Dainik Amader Orthoniti, Amader Natun Samoy, Dainik Amar Din and Barta24.com.

He is an executive member of the Reporters Forum Secretariat (BSRF). In addition, he is a permanent member of the Dhaka Journalists Unit and the Fisheries and Livestock Journalists Forum. He is currently working as secretary of the office of the Journalists Forum on Climate Change.